3 Songs – to name only a few.

Standard

Whats a song if you cannot remember it? So, for a music buff like me, thinking about three most important songs shouldn’t have been that difficult. But, I must admit that I did have to pause for a second, or maybe 2 to 3 minutes before those three songs came to my mind. Well, perhaps the most important song has been ‘Ironic’. I simply love the lyrics. Heard during a sing-along in college, the lyrics that stuck to me were – ‘Its like ten thousand spoons when all you need is a knife..Isn’t it Ironic, Don’t you think? A little too ironic.. and Yeah, I really do think’! I went on to memorize the lyrics of this song and even sang this for a University challenge event, where I placed second. Everyone was raving about the song. What made it a tad bit special was the senior from college, a guitarist who I had requested to play the background score for me. I went on to sing this song at an Office Party too where all the first year associates were asked to display their talent. My boss walked up to me in disbelief and said ‘You never told us that you sing like an angel!’. What followed on was an entertainment session the next day in office. Didn’t really mind it too much because I liked my bosses.

Song number 2 – well, it has to be ‘Annie’s song’ because that’s the song that i auditioned with in College and that was the beginning of some wonderful musical times in college. So, thanks to John Denver.

Song 3 – perhaps, ‘Don’t panic’ and recently, ‘Scientist’ by Coldplay. They are not really the most important songs in my life. But during times of distress or sorrow, they have brought much comfort. Played them on loop or read the lyrics over and over again, especially of Scientist. And, the lyrics seem rather topical in the current context. I don’t know what my expectations are right now. I don’t want to get hurt again. Yet, my mind thinks about eventualities that I don’t want should happen. I guess, that’s how the mind works. Sometimes, it just goes haywire.

So, I am really someone with a varied taste in music. As long as its soulful, I can listen to it and enjoy it. Even if its rap but has rhythm and soul. Lately, I realised that I have started listening to the lyrics and I came across this quote, ‘When you’re happy, you enjoy the music but when you’re sad, you understand the lyrics’… How true.

Leave a Reply

